Safeguarding and Advancing SRHR in Universal Health Coverage: On the Road to the 2023 High-Level Meeting on UHC

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Safeguarding and Advancing SRHR in Universal Health Coverage: On the Road to the 2023 High-Level Meeting on UHC

September 29

A virtual side event to the 76th Session of the United Nations General Assembly

Wednesday, 29 September 2021
8:00 to 9:30 am 
EDT / 2:00 to 3:30 pm CEST / 8:00 to 9:30 pm GMT+8

Over the past two years, anti-gender movements and the COVID-19 pandemic have deepened existing challenges to realizing sexual and reproductive health and rights (SRHR). Universal health coverage (UHC) can help overcome these barriers, but only when implemented with an intersectional lens that puts girls and women — in all their intersecting identities — at the center of UHC policies and programs.

Join us on the sidelines of UNGA to hear from influential decision-makers, technical experts, and advocates about concrete methods to center SRHR and the voices of girls and women in the design of UHC implementation plans, and about how civil society organizations can galvanize political momentum around the integration of SRHR in UHC. This event will help lay the foundation for SRHR and gender equality to be central to the 2023 UN High-level Meeting on UHC.