Fireside Chat: Youth -Adult Power Dynamics in HCD+AYSRH

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Fireside Chat: Youth -Adult Power Dynamics in HCD+AYSRH

August 11

In honor of this year’s International Youth Day theme of intergenerational solidarity, we are holding a fireside chat that digs into youth/adult power dynamics in HCD+AYSRH programming and projects.

Power dynamics between young people and adult practitioners can affect program outcomes. These dynamics can often play into the sense of ownership that young people have and their level of satisfaction. Yet navigating these relational dynamics can be sensitive and complex. Discussing youth-adult power dynamics in HCD+AYSRH programs is not only a step towards uncovering the challenges associated with them and also discovering ways that they can be managed to inform meaningful interventions that center on the needs, desires and health outcomes for young people.

Join us for an open and honest conversation with a diverse group of young practitioners on how they have seen these power dynamics affect their work, the challenges with these dynamics, and practices to overcome them. We’ll hear from young designers from Billion Girls CoLab, and youth-led initiatives from Uganda and Sierra Leone in a dialogue led by our Youth Engagement Officer, Susan Towett.

Date: August 11th at 4:30pm EAT / 7pm IST / 2:30pm GMT / 9:30am EST

Bring your questions and your own experiences to share.

Register for the event

en_USEnglish