CIVICUS welcomes new board members

Loading Events

« All Events

CIVICUS welcomes new board members

July 4

We are very pleased to announce that following the recently concluded 2022 CIVICUS Board Elections we have eight newly elected board members.

Cristina Palabay (Philippines), Dylan Mathews (UK), Ekenia Chifamba (Zimbabwe), Irene Petras (Zimbabwe), Omaid Sharifi (Afghanistan), Sarah Rose (UK), Stellah Bosire (Kenya) and Patricia Tatis (Colombia, elected for a second term) – will begin their term in July 2022 and help steer and govern the CIVICUS Alliance until June 2025.

CIVICUS board elections are staggered to ensure that about half the positions are up for election every 18 months and each board member serves a three-year term, limited to two consecutive terms. This rotation ensures the retention of institutional memory within the board but is also seen as an opportunity to infuse different perspectives in the board’s decision-making processes.

Cristina, Dylan, Ekenia, Irene, Omaid, Sarah, Stellah and Patricia will join our continuing board members: Patricia Lerner (Netherlands), Vandita Morarka (India), Mario Roset (Mexico), Ana Addobbati (Brazil) and Sonia Kwani (Ghana).

We would also like to extend our deepest gratitude and appreciation to our outgoing board members for their leadership and dedication to the CIVICUS Alliance over the past years. Julia Sanchez, Nilda Bullain, Guillermo Correa, Betty Barkha, Serap Altinisik and Amitabh Behar: we thank you.

We send a 13 000 strong welcome to the new board members and look forward to working with them!

Check out the board members here

CIVICUS Secretariat


July 4
Event Category: