Call for Nominations: AAAS Kavli Science Journalism 2021 Awards

Loading Events

« All Events

Call for Nominations: AAAS Kavli Science Journalism 2021 Awards

July 16, 2020 @ 8:00 am - July 15, 2021 @ 11:00 pm

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is seeking nominations for the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards.

The awards are open to reporters doing work for independent news organizations around the world. Articles must be readily accessible to the public by subscription, newsstand sales or online access. If the submitted work was published or broadcast in a language other than English, you must provide an English translation.

The contest year is from July 16, 2020 to July 15, 2021. The entry deadline is August 1, 2021.We changed some of the categories last year. Be sure to read the CategoriesSubmission Procedures,  and Frequently Asked Questions, before starting your entry.

We have been recognizing excellence in science journalism since 1945 and celebrated our diamond anniversary last year. Thanks to a doubling of our endowment by The Kavli Foundation in 2015, we accept entries from journalists worldwide in all categories.

Contest Rules

You cannot enter the same story or stories in two different categories, nor may you enter a story both as an individual entry and as part of a group of stories.

Entry limit: Entrants may submit up to THREE entries in all (across one or more categories).

The following are not eligible for the AAAS Kavli Science Journalism Awards:

  • Items published originally in AAAS publications or produced by AAAS.
  • Items by employees of AAAS (including those on the masthead of Science magazine) or The Kavli Foundation.

Winners of the 2020 awards are not eligible. Individuals who have won three times are no longer eligible.

If you have questions about an existing entry, please contact us at [email protected].


July 16, 2020 @ 8:00 am
July 15 @ 11:00 pm
Event Categories:
, , ,
Event Tags: