Adolescent Girls: Breaking Barriers, Shifting Norms

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Adolescent Girls: Breaking Barriers, Shifting Norms

August 24 @ 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Tuesday, August 24, 8:00 AM ET | 1:00 PM BST | 3:00 PM EAT | 5:30PM IST

Register here

Social norms define gender roles, responsibilities, and power dynamics. These deeply rooted, unwritten “rules” can result in harmful outcomes for adolescent girls—preventing them from accessing opportunities and realizing their rights.

Fortunately, social norms can shift over time. But changing them requires deep commitment from a range of stakeholders: family members, male allies, communities, schools, policymakers, organizations, and other champions of girls’ development.

Working with local partners, ICRW mobilizes these stakeholders into networks that together create an “ecosystem” to support the equitable development of both girls and boys. During this event, the first in ICRW’s 45th anniversary series, speakers from across our global platform and youth leaders will discuss illustrative examples of how to disrupt barriers and support systemic change.

Register here

Details

Date:
August 24
Time:
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Event Categories:
, ,
Event Tags:
, ,